Far-right candidates in the local and general elections

1 05 2015


Regardless of the results, next week’s general and local elections are already good news for anti-fascists. The far-right has collapsed electorally and is not mounting a serious challenge in any constituency in the UK. This is a very different from 2010, when the BNP stood 338 parliamentary candidates. This time round they are standing 8. Despite an influx of former BNP members to other far-right groups, notably the English Democrats, other fascist groups have not been able to pick up the slack. Electorally, the far-right is at its lowest ebb for a generation, although this is partly because the vote won by groups like the BNP has swung toward UKIP.

We hate to kick a man when he’s down, but this represents a golden opportunity for anti-fascists to push these racist groups out of the political arena completely.

Some points of interest:

The English Democrats are standing 32 general election candidates. Of particular interest are ex-BNP national organiser Eddy Butler standing in Harlow and ex-BNP Barnsley organiser Ian Sutton standing in Barnsley central.

The BNP are again standing a respectable number of candidates in the local elections in Worcester. This is the third year on the trot they have done this when the party elsewhere has collapsed. The British Democrats are standing a handful of candidates in Leicestershire.

English Democrat local election candidates are concentrated in Barnsley and Liverpool. Most of the Liverpool candidates are names familiar from the now defunct Liverpool BNP branch.

Far-right general election candidates

British Democratic Party

Bradford East – Jim Lewthwaite

British National Party

Braintree – Paul Hooks
Boston & Skegness – Robert West
Charnwood – Cathy Duffy
Dagenham & Rainham – Tess Culnane
Hornchurch & Upminster – Paul Borg
Kingswood – Julie Lake
Old Bexley & Sidcup – Nicola Finch
Rotherham – Adam Walker

English Democrats

Barnsley Central – Ian Sutton (ex-BNP Barnsley organiser)
Barnsley East – Kevin Riddiough
Bath – Jenny Knight
Berwick-upon-Tweed – Neil Humphrey
Bexleyheath & Crayford – Maggi Young
Bradford West – Therese Hirst
Brentwood & Ongar – Robin Tilbrook
Bury South – Valerie Morris
Central Suffolk and North Ipswich – Tony Holyoak
Dagenham & Rainham – Kim Gandy
Dartford – Steve Uncles
Don Valley – Louise Dutton
Doncaster Central – Dean Walker
Doncaster North – David Allen
Erith & Thamesmead – Graham Moore
Faversham & Mid Kent – Gary Butler
Harlow – Eddy Butler (ex-BNP national organiser)
Kettering – Derek Hilling
Monmouth – Stephen Morris
Nuneaton – Steve Paxton
Penistone & Stocksbridge – Colin Porter
Rother Valley – Sharon Pilling
Rotherham – Dean Walker
Sheffield Brightside & Hillsborough – Justin Saxton
Sheffield Central – Elizabeth Breed
Sheffield Hallam – Steve Clegg
Sheffield Heeley – David Haslett
Sheffield South East – Matthew Roberts
Southend West – Jeremy Moss
Stevenage – Charles Vickers
Wentworth & Dearne – Alan England
Weston-super-Mare – Clive Lavelle

Liberty GB

Birmingham Ladywood – Timothy Burton
Lewisham West & Penge – George Whale
Luton South – Paul Weston

National Front

Aberdeen North – Chris Willett
Bridgend – Adam Lloyd
Carshalton & Wallington – Richard Edmonds
Hull East – Mike Cooper
Linlithgow & East Falkirk – Neil McIvor
North Tyneside – Rob Batten
Rochdale – Kevin Bryan


Bournemouth West – Dick Franklin
Chichester – Dr Andrew Emerson


Stoke North – Craig Pond (former BNP Stoke branch secretary)

Far-right local election candidates

British Democratic Party

Bradford, Wyke – Liam Kernaghan
Charnwood, Loughborough Ashby – Kevan Stafford
Charnwood, Thurmaston – Chris Canham, Julia Green, Paul Newman
North West Leicestershire, Hugglescote St Johns , NW Leics – Graham Partner
Pendle, Waterside – Gary Topping

British National Party

Allerdale, Ellenborough – Clive Jefferson
Allerdale, Ewanrigg – Dawn Charlton, David Oloughlin
Burnley, Rosegrove with Lowerhouse – John Rowe
Charnwood, East Goscote – Cathy Duffy
Derby, Chaddesden – Paul Hilliard
East Northamptonshire, Irthlingborough Waterloo – Marc Whitestone
Manchester, Moston – Gareth Black
Pendle, Vivary Bridge – John Rowe
Salford, Barton – Wayne Tomlinson
Salford, Irwell Riverside – Carl Lawson
Worcester, Bedwardine – Jennifer Whitwam
Worcester, Cathedral – Andrew North
Worcester, Nunnery – Carl Mason
Worcester, St John – Alan Draper

English Democrats

Barnsley, Central – Colin Porter
Barnsley, Darfield – David Burnett
Barnsley, Darton East – Sharon Sutton (ex-BNP)
Barnsley, Darton West – Ian Sutton (ex-BNP)
Barnsley, Hoyland Milton – Justin Saxton
Barnsley, Rockingham – Kevin Riddiough
Barnsley, St Helen’s – Dean Walker
Bury, Besses – Stephen Morris
Doncaster, Bentley – Keith Hewitt
Doncaster, Bessacarr – Barbara Hewitt
Doncaster, Conisbrough – John Brennan
Kirklees, Dewsbury South – Shaun Maddox
Leicester, Braunstone Park & Rowley Fields – Oliver Healey
Leicester, Thurncourt – David Haslett
Liverpool, Knotty Ash – Derek Grue
Liverpool, Princes Park – Steven Greenhalgh (ex-BNP Liverpool organiser)
Liverpool, Riverside – Michael Lane
Liverpool, St Michaels – Paul Rimmer (ex-BNP)
Liverpool, Warbreck – Steven McEllenborough (ex-BNP)
Peterborough, Stanground Central – Nick Capp
Walsall, Blakenall – Chris Newey

National Front

Calderdale, Todmorden – Chris Jackson
North Tyneside, Howdon – Bob Batten



Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: